Cagayancillo, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

Cagayancillo is a sixth class municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines, located east of the mainland in the Sulu Sea. As of August 1, 2007 census, it has a population of 6,506 people. Cagayancillo is the closest settlement to the Tubbataha National Marine Park. The word Cagayancillo is Spanish for “Little Cagayan.”

Brief History
Cagayancillo was founded on April 22, 1581 as a visita of Hamtik (Antique), later as visitas of Bugason, Dao and finally Anini’y. It became independent on December 20, 1861.

Cagayancillo is politically subdivided into 12 barangays and composed of 31 islands and islets.

  • Bantayan (Pob.)
  • Calsada (Pob.)
  • Convento (Pob.)
  • Lipot North (Pob.)
  • Lipot South (Pob.)
  • Magsaysay
  • Mampio
  • Nusa
  • Santa Cruz
  • Tacas (Pob.)
  • Talaga
  • Wahig (Pob.)

General Information
Area (sq. kms.):26.4
Population (2000): 6,348 (most Ilonggos)
No. of Barangays:12
Income Class:Sixth
District: First
Zip Code: 5321
Area Code: 048

September 10 (St. Nicholas of Tolentino)


Speak Your Mind