Agutaya, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

Agutaya is a 5th class municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 10,422 people in 2,040 households. It is the eastern part of the Cuyo Islands Group, and is the second largest island of the archipelago.

Brief History
Agutaya was formerly a part of Cuyo. It was made into a separate district during the later part of the Spanish regime. The town’s name was derived from the word aguanan, a root growing abundantly in the place, and yon, a kind of fish that abounds in the sea. The word ta was added in between agu andyon to form the town’s name.

Aborlan is politically subdivided into 19 barangays.

  • Algeciras
  • Concepcion
  • Diit
  • Maracanao
  • Matarawis
  • Abagat (Pob.)
  • Bangcal (Pob.)
  • Cambian (Pob.)
  • Villafria
  • Villasol

General Information
Area (sq. kms.):37.3
Population (2000):10,422
No. of Barangays:10
Income Class:Fifth
District: First
Zip Code:5320
Area Code: 048

June 24 (St. John the Baptist)