Araceli, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

Araceli is a 5th class municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 10,894 people in 2,050 households. Cuyono is the principal language of the area. Araceli was formerly known as Dumaran.

Brief History
The island was originally settled by people from Cuyo and Cagayancillo in search of food. The seat of government was first in Dumaran, later moved to Araceli in 1911 and then returned to Dumaran in 1927. In 1961, the island was divided into two municipalities.

Araceli is politically subdivided into 13 barangays.

  • Tinintinan
  • Dalayawan
  • San Jose De Oro
  • Taloto
  • Santo Niño
  • Balogo
  • Lumacad
  • Mauringuen
  • Maduldulon
  • Osmeña
  • Dagman
  • Calandagan (formerly Tudela[2])
  • Poblacion

General Information
Area (sq. kms.): 204.30
Population (2000): 10,894
No. of Barangays:13
Income Class:Fifth
District: First
Zip Code:5311
Area Code: 048

December 11 (Our Lady of Araceli)