Culion, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

Culion is a 4th class municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines, consisting of Culion Island primarily and 41 minor surrounding islands. According to the 2006 census, it has a population of 18,000 people in 3,082 households. Culion is part of the Calamian group of islands. It was a former leprosarium under the American commonwealth of the Philippines.

Brief History
Culion was formerly a part of Coron. It was formerly known as the “Leper Colony.” Culion became a separate municipality on February 1992 by virtue of Republic Act No. 7193 and was ratified by a plebiscite held on September 12.

Culion is politically subdivided into 14 barangays.

  • Balala
  • Baldat
  • Binudac
  • Culango
  • Galoc
  • Jardin
  • Libis
  • Luac
  • Malaking Patag
  • Osmeña
  • Tiza
  • De Carabao
  • Burabod
  • Halsey

General Information
Area (sq. kms.): 429.60
Population (2000): 14,302
No. of Barangays:11
Income Class:Fourth
District: First
Zip Code:5315
Area Code: 048

December 8 (Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception)