Cuyo, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

Cuyo is a 4th class municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 18,257 people in 3,609 households.
During the Spanish colonization of the Philippines, Cuyo became the second capital of Palawan from 1873 to 1903. The municipality is served by Cuyo Airport.

Brief History
Cuyo was first settled by Malays who landed in Duba, followed by Mohammedan Malays led by Datu Magbanua. Three Mandarins, Pa, Lu and Am, landed near the present Brgy. Rizal and introduced pottery, gold mining and smithworking. Cuyo was later colonized in 1622 by Spaniards led by Count de San Agustin and a party of five Recollect monks. The town was raided by Moros on June 30, 1636, razing the church and convent, killing residents and enslaving others. In 1800, a cholera epidemic killed hundreds. In 1884, a fire reduced the town to ashes. Cuyo became the second capital of Palawan from 1873 to 1903.

Cuyo is politically subdivided into 17 barangays. In 1956, sitio Danawan was elevated into a barrio.

  • Balading
  • Bangcal (Pob.)
  • Cabigsing (Pob.)
  • Caburian
  • Caponayan
  • Catadman (Pob.)
  • Funda
  • Lagaoriao (Pob.)
  • Lubid
  • Manamoc
  • Maringian
  • Lungsod (Pob.)
  • Pawa
  • San Carlos
  • Suba
  • Tenga-tenga (Pob.)
  • Tocadan (Pob.)

General Information
Area (sq. kms.): 85
Population (2000):18,257
No. of Barangays: 17
Income Class:Fourth
District: Second
Zip Code:5300
Area Code: 048

August 28 (St. Augustine Hippo) – the town fiesta, it features soot-covered revelers performing an Ati street dance to the frenzied beat of drums.
Holy Week (Aguado Pilgrimage)