Dumaran, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

Dumaran is a 3rd class municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines. According to the 2007 census, it has a population of 18,737 people. It is bounded on the northeast by Municipality of Araceli, on the south by Sulu Sea by, on the southwest by Roxas, and on the northwest by the municipality of Taytay. It is located at N 10° 30′ 0 E 119° 45′ 0 of Palawan. Dumaran is a home for coral reefs, in fact, there is an island named Reef Island because it is where you could find a big chunk of corals beside those who encircle the whole island. This island is perfect for scuba diving and snorkeling.

Brief History
The island was originally settled by people from Cuyo and Cagayancillo in search of food. The seat of government was first in Dumaran, later moved to Araceli in 1911 and then returned to Dumaran in 1927. In 1961, the island was divided into two municipalities.

Dumaran is politically subdivided into 16 barangays.

  • Bacao (Island)
  • Bohol (Island)
  • Calasag (Island)
  • Capayas (Mainland)
  • Catep (Island)
  • Culasian (Mainland)
  • Danleg (Mainland)
  • Dumaran (Pob.)(Island)
  • Itangil (Mainland)
  • Ilian (Mainland)
  • Magsaysay Mainland)
  • San Juan (Island)
  • Santa Teresita (Mainland)
  • Santo Tomas (Island)
  • Tanatanaon (Mainland)
  • Santa Maria (Mainland)

General Information
Area (sq. kms.):435
Population (2000):16,616
No. of Barangays:16
Income Class:Fourth
District: First
Zip Code:5310
Area Code: 048

June 5-9 – foundation anniversary
October 1 (St. Therese of the Child Jesus)