El Nido, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

El Nido (officially the Municipality of El Nido) is a first class municipality and managed resource protected area in the province of Palawan in the Philippines. It is about 420 kilometres (260 mi) southwest of Manila, and about 238 kilometres (148 mi) northeast of Puerto Princesa, Palawan’s capital.


Brief History
El Nido was formerly a small village inhabited by Tagbanuas called Talindak. When the Spaniards arrived in 1890, it was renamed Bacuit. El Nido became a regular municipality in 1916. In 1954, it was renamed El Nido, derived from the Spanish word meaning “swallow’s nest.” On October 8, 1998, the whole town was declared as a Managed Resource Protected Area, a special zone for conservation efforts.

El Nido is politically subdivided into eighteen barangays. Four of which are situated in the Población (town proper), and are also known by their respective zones.

  • Bagong Bayan
  • Buena Suerte (Zone II)
  • Barotuan
  • Bebeladan
  • Corong-corong (Zone IV)
  • Mabini (formerly Oton)
  • Manlag
  • Masagana (Zone III)
  • New Ibajay
  • Pasadeña
  • Maligaya (Zone I)
  • San Fernando
  • Sibaltan
  • Teneguiban
  • Villa Libertad
  • Villa Paz
  • Bucana
  • Aberawan

General Information
Area (sq. kms.):488.2
Population (2000):27,029
No. of Barangays:18
Income Class:
District: First
Zip Code:5313
Area Code: 048

March-15-18 – foundation anniversary
October 4 (St. Francis of Assisi)