Magsaysay, Palawan (History, Barangays, General Information)

Magsaysay is a 5th class municipality in the province of Palawan, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 10,885 people in 2,269 households. It is the easternmost of the three Municipalities of the Cuyo Islands Group.

Brief History
Magsaysay was formerly a part of Cuyo town. It became a separate municipality in 1963. The town was named after the late Pres. Ramon Magsaysay.

Magsaysay is politically subdivided into 11 barangays.

  • Alcoba
  • Balaguen
  • Canipo
  • Cocoro
  • Danawan (Pob.)
  • Emilod
  • Igabas
  • Lacaren
  • Los Angeles
  • Lucbuan
  • Rizal

General Information
Area (sq. kms.):27.7
Population (2000):10,885
No. of Barangays:11
Income Class: Fifth
District: First
Zip Code:5319
Area Code: 048